Smash-Up: We Writers are All the Same

Is this another post about a super cool software? No guys, it is not. There are more to come, don’t worry. Constantly I read blogs telling you how long it takes to became a publishable writer — that you should write 10 novels before start querying — so consider this an exercise of patience; you will need it after all.

Today it is the day to write that inspirational post.

About one month ago I was sad and alone. I had given up everything to became a writer, and yet I was unable to write — my own insecurity paralyzed me. At the beginning I denied that fact. No, I was not insecure… I was reading writing books to improve my skills, and reading good books to analyze their styles (only reinstating that I would never be that superb).

One day, after I spent the whole day reading a self published hit, my husband told me the true: You are insecure. You are just afraid to fail.

After all I gave up? Hell yeah I was. Still am. Aren’t we all?

I decided to create a twitter account. Honestly, I don’t have any idea how that came to be my conclusion; I knew nothing about using social media to create a platform and didn’t even knew what to do with twitter.

And you know what I learned in this one month? That we writers are all the same. Same fears, same dreams. Especially: same crazy little things.

We all writers…

So no, we are not alone: we are all in this together.

And I want to thank you all for being there for me, not even knowing how much you were helping me.

Now it is time to share! How is this social media thing working out for you? Do you agree that our similarities bring us together? Truly, I want to hear from you guys. Let’s hug!

7 Responses to “Smash-Up: We Writers are All the Same”

  1. Lisa Gail Green Says:

    You are so sweet! Thank you for including me with such awesome posts. I’m glad I could give you encouragement. I know it’s hard. That doesn’t change, but if we all support each other, we can get through anything.

  2. Julie Musil Says:

    Oh, what a fun post. Thanks for including me too. It wasn’t until I started blogging and tweeting that I realized how much we all share. The same fears, worries, funky habits. It’s much funner going through this process with cool writers like you!

  3. Leona Bushman Says:

    And me :D and so true!! Welcome to the club and keep writing!!

  4. nataliefaybooks Says:

    Thank you all guys! For your kind words, comments, RTs, your great posts, everything :)

    I fell the hugs!

  5. shalleemcarthur Says:

    Thanks for the link. :) One of the best things about blogging and tweeting for me is that now I have friends who know how I feel! There’s nothing better for the discouraging days. Good luck!

  6. Morgan (mjmayze) Says:

    I have read and even follow several of the posts u mentioned and am encouraged by theirs and many others as well. I don’t consider myself a very outgoing person, but being on twitter and learning more about blogging as I continued my journey in writing has helped me feel connected and encouraged and I continue to learn a lot about our craft too! Thanks for the *hug* and I send one back to you :)

  7. nataliefaybooks Says:

    Shallee: We need to be together in our weirdness!

    Morgan: That was very kind of you. It is really reassuring that we are all in the same road. My husband tells me I’m the most anti social person in the universe, but the internet is fixing me. ;)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

